top of page
Search
  • Vicki Beall

Forgetting to Count

Vicki here and I'm thrilled to be a guest designer for Blank Page Muse. Don't they have fabulous stamps? They are pressed to order- almost like they have made it just for you!

What season are you? I'm definitely a summer girl- I love everything about it! The heat, the sun, vacation and of course the beach. The sentiment on this card is a perfect match for this gorgeous Mermaid as she's catching some ray on the shore. And who doesn't love the magic of mermaids? Keep reading to see how I made this one.

I've been working a lot with silhouette stamps so she was a real treat to color. In my mind I imaging mermaids to have gorgeous coral and other pastel colors for scales.

Here is a mint and purple too-

I made an A2 card and stamped my mermaid using VersaFine Clair ink. Before I colored her I stamped her again and cut her out to create a mask which allowed me to ink the background.

Using my brushes I first made a sandy layer using brown archival ink then I added blue, yellow, pink and coral for my sky. After I finished, I used a small circle I punched and shaded off the edges in coral to cast a sun in the back ground.

I removed the mask I had and colored her using a few Copic Markers to color her, but my favorite part was adding the clear glitter Nuvo drops! It completely changes her body and brings her to life.

Lastly, I added the "Near the Sea" sentiment and added a card base.

I considered adding another embellishment to the card and I might still, but I love the simplicity of the "blankness" and can only imagine how she feels basking in the sun letting the wave wash her troubles away. Don't you just want to be her?



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page