top of page
Search
  • Vicki Beall

Springtime in March


Living in Northern VA, I'm lucky enough to see the Cherry Blossoms in Washington, DC. every year which inspired this card, although it's the fairy that makes it magical.

To make an A2 card I cut my card base (4.25"x 5.5"), my mat base (4"x 5.25") and my stamp base (4"x 5"). (All supplies will be listed below under the slide show.)

  • Cut/ Punch a circle to use as your moon mask. We'll use this to create the illusion of moonlight on the ground.

  • I sponged about 3/4 of the base card with light purple and the bottom 1/4 with a light green for a grassy area.

  • Continue to layer ink colors with darker shades of purple and green towards the outside.

  • Lastly, using black ink, just lightly sponge the sky and edges of the grassy area- again, making sure not to sponge in your moonlight.

  • Now- go back and lighten it up with your 2 lightest sky colors. Wallah- night sky! (You could add stars with another stamp or a white gel pen if you wanted to.)

  • Next, I used a cherry blossom branch stamp I had. I wanted to highlight the branch in the moon so I stamped on top of the moon and used Copic Markers to color in the cherry blossoms. Tip- Use a lighter color on the moonlit flowers and darker colors in the "night shadow". You could also add some glitter to the moon edges or fairy wings for extra detail, but I think she is too sweet just crouched in the grass shadow. I wonder what she is wishing for?

  • Take your stamp base and center it on your mat and adhere to the card base. I chose a black base and it really makes the card pop on the green base.

Have fun using this technique with other solid images! Here are the supplies I used for this project:

Basic Card Stock- colors of your choice

Moonlight is the proof that there will always be light in darkness.~ Unknown

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page