top of page
Search
  • Vicki Beall

Expressing Thanks


Ever wish you had the eye of a photographer? I do. I wish I could capture a moment at exactly the right time and right light. I can hardly manage a selfie let alone a full on photo shoot. Today, I'd like to give props (pun intended) to one of the best.

Norma Fayak has been a family friend for many years and takes the most amazing pictures. I happened to stop by for a quick visit when my granddaughter was still a baby and she immediately had to "go to work". Long story and fun afternoon short, she got the best shots! I should also mention, she makes a lot of her own props.

Here is one of my favorites- Miss Avery Elizabeth (7 months-2014)

"Sometimes the smallest things take up the most room in your heart."~ Winnie the Pooh

Recently, Norma Fayak Photography opened her first studio and I wanted to celebrate this with her. Sticking to her neutral color likes and "bo-ho" style; I made a set of Thank You cards she can send to her clients.

These cards are A2 in size (4.25"x5.5"):

  • Cut your black card base to 4.25"x 11" then score and fold at 5.5".

  • I used both of the flower stamps from Unity Stamp Company's in the June 2016 Monthly Kit

  • Using the solid flower stamp, I stamped it with black ink in the middle of my page. Do all of these first, allowing them time to dry completely. (Any black archival ink will do.)

  • Now let's have some fun! I love adding a heat embossed image to my cards. It's gives them a touch of flair and it's fun! It's really pretty simple if you take your time. Rub the stamping area with some type of rosin to remove any static. (Tip- a used dryer sheet works too.) VersaMark is used just like ink, except it's kind of gooey or greasy. (You can get this in any craft store.) "Ink" up the flower showing the detail with your VersaMark and stamp directly over the flowers you have already stamped in black as best you can. Remember, VersMark is clear but you should still be able to see the impression. Put the lid back on the Versamark as soon as your done- everything sticks to it!

  • I used white embossing powder, but you could use any color you want. Using a small spoon and a tray, cover the images with your embossing powder completely- you can tap off an excess, just make sure your images are completely covered. (Tip- keep a stiff paint brush to gently brush off any powder that doesn't stick to the image.) Pour any unused powder back into the jar and close the lid. If it spills, it will make a heck of mess.

  • Preheat your heat gun- be careful!! It will get super hot, melting and burning anything in its way including you!! Once your heat gun is ready, carefully heat up the powdered images. Be sure to move your gun evenly over your paper- some warping will occur- this DOES NOT ruin your finished card. You will start to see the image change and the embossing powder will start to melt and set leaving you with a beautifully smooth and golden image. Once all of the powder has melted, let it set and cool off for a minute and admire! (​If you've never embossed before- practice, practice, practice!)​

  • I wrapped a little black ribbon around my stamp base for a little more detail and used a "thank you" sentiment from another stamp set.

Norma, thank you for giving so much of yourself in each photo you take. I wish you much success with your new studio.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page