top of page
Search
  • Vicki Beall

Lavinia World (7/18)- Brave and Loved


Can you believe we are already in the middle of the summer?- Me either- it seems to go so quickly and I love this time of year!

I'm calling this week's challenge Brave and Loved- I live in the Shenandoah Valley and we see the most gorgeous creatures- rabbits, deer, fox and even the bears have been known to walk down Main Street in the middle of the day! (Yes, I live in a small town that actually has a Main Street with a single traffic light and I love it!) I still haven't seen a real fairy, but how wonderful it is to think they're there!

This project is an A2 Card: (Stamps used: "Three Woodland Mice", " Small Celestial Tree", "Wild Flower", "Moon", "Brave" and "Eden"

  • Now it's time to get inky fingers! As I've said before, I tend to work light to dark when I ink up my paper- it allows me more control.

  • I stamped the moon first on my entire set of cards- it's easier to work in an assembly line- this way you don't have to continuously move your stamps around and I think it keeps my work space more organized, but that's really wishful thinking!

  • My second step was to make my mountains- this is easier than you think. Just take a piece of scrap paper and tear it with some curves and you have mountains. Using your torn paper as a guide start to create your mountains by inking the edges. Twist it/ turn it and create the peaks and valleys. You can always add more than one color for shadows and so on.

  • After you've a made your mountains you can start to create your sunset or sunrise. I work from edge to center to avoid a heavy hand in the middle of my card. (I use alcohol inks on most of my projects, but you have to give the ink some time to set or you will see it start to smear or even lift off- another reason to work in steps.)

  • Now you can add your trees, flowers, vines- whatever you want. Try stamping them in different colors; you'll be amazed how they change the whole picture. For this card I stamped them in purple and red.

  • ​I added Eden last because I wanted to be sure I highlighted her wings completely and then I added the mice showing their bravery as they approached her.

  • I colored her wings with purple and green copic markers and then highlighted them white paint and Nuvo drops. Another way I added something special to this card was to use small highlighting drops of regular white craft paint.

Please be sure to join us at Lavinia World- We'd want to see what you come up with.

Win a challenge badge and $15 gift certificate to Lavinia World!

Here are the rules:

  • Using Lavinia stamps is strongly recommended, but not required at this time.

  • Your chances of winning the challenge prize is doubled each time your entry uses Lavinia stamps. For example- if 3 designers pick your submission- that's 6 entries!

  • You must use a rubber or clear stamp in your project. Digi stamps are not allowed.

  • The theme is always Anything Goes.

  • This is a bi-weekly challenge, with a new challenge beginning every other Thursday.

Here's more inspiration:


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page