top of page
Search
  • Vicki Beall

Guest Designing with So SuzyStamps


HAPPY 3rd BIRTHDAY SO SUZY STAMPS!! I'd like to take a minute to thank Suzanne and her team for allowing me an opportunity to be a guest designer on her team. I have learned so much about where I want to take my craft from the sessions offered through So Suzy Stamps and can't wait to see where my new knowledge takes me.

"It's impossible", said Pride. "It's risky", said Experience. "It's pointless", said Reason. "Give it a try", whispered the HEART. ~ Unknown

Before we get started, you should know, we will be celebrating all month with specials you can only wish for- pun intended! See below for full details or click HERE.

I love to ink up the whole page on a lot of my projects and this one is no exception. Often times, my fingers look like they have been slammed in doors since they are covered in purples and greens, but I love it and you can tell I have put my whole self into my craft. Besides, that's half the fun, right? So...let's get inky!

This card is an A2 card. I cut my card base at 4.25"x 5.5" and my stamp base at 4 1/8"x 5 5/8".

  • I used a dandelion stamp I bought at Michaels. We want to emboss this first and it's pretty simple if you take your time. Rub the stamping area with some type of rosin to remove any static. (Tip- a used dryer sheet works too.) VersaMark is used just like ink, except it's kind of gooey or greasy. (You can get this in any craft store.) "Ink" up the flower stamp from with your VersaMark and stamp wherever you want the image to be. VersMark is clear but you should be able to see the impression. Put the lid back on the Versamark as soon as your done- everything sticks to it- trust me!

  • I used white embossing powder. Using a small spoon and a tray, cover the images with your embossing powder completely- you can tap off any excess, just make sure your images are completely covered. (Tip- keep a stiff paint brush to gently brush off any powder that doesn't stick to the image.) Pour any unused powder back into the jar and close the lid. If it spills, it will make a heck of mess.

  • Preheat your heat gun- be careful! It will get super hot, melting and burning anything in its way including you! Once your heat gun is ready, carefully heat up the powdered images. Be sure to move your gun evenly over your paper- some warping will occur- this DOES NOT ruin your finished card. You will start to see the image change and the embossing powder will start to melt and set leaving you with a smooth image. Once all of the powder has melted, let it set and cool off for a minute and admire! (​If you've never embossed before- practice, practice, practice!)

  • Now it's time to get inky! Using a craft sponge start with your lightest color ink and work the ink all over the card in sections. Start off of the paper to avoid a dark ink spot and add more ink to darken if you'd like. I used Sunflower Sue, Playful Pumpkin, Wild Whiskey and Happy Hunter from the Autumn Equinox set from So Suzy Stamps.

  • Continue to layer ink colors depending on the color and coverage you want. Personally, I tend to only go back over with the lighter colors.

  • Before your sponged ink has too much time to dry, wipe of your embossed images and see the white pop off the page!

  • Using a piece of scrap paper and some twine I added my sentiment from So Suzy Stamps called "Some See a Wish". I sponged the sentiment with the same colors and added some foam tape for dimension.

  • There's no need for anything extra on this card, however, I wanted some extra pops of color and added Nuvo Crystal Drops (Ripened Pumpkin and Buttermilk) all over the card.

  • I built this card to have a very thin frame from the base card, but you could make it smaller and mat it as well.

  • The color possibilities are endless. I also created one using colors from the Summer Solstice Ink Bite Set. I used the exact same technique including the Nuvo drops.

Tell me- when was the last time you wished on the soft seeds of a dandelion? My wish for each of you is to take time this Spring and pick one of these soft plumes of wonder and wish for something special. Thanks again for crafting with me- Vicki

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page