top of page
Search
  • Vicki Beall

Lavinia World (7/04)- Freedom


Happy 4th of July!

I'm calling this week's challenge Freedom and I'm dedicating this to my son who proudly serves in the US Navy and all of the brave men and women who serve and have served our Country and their families.

6"x8" Art: (Stamps used: "Woodland Hares", " Small Celestial Tree", "Fir Tree", "Spiral of Spells", "Whimsical Whisps" and "Eden"

  • Let's get busy! As I've said before, I tend to work light to dark when I ink up my paper- it allows me more control.

  • I used a 3 inch circle to mask off a moon and then I started my mountains- this is easier than you think. Just take a piece of scrap paper and tear it with some curves and you have mountains. Using your torn paper as a guide start to create your mountains by inking the edges. Twist it/ turn it and create the peaks and valleys. You can always add more than one color for shadows and so on.

  • I work from edge to center to avoid a heavy hand in the middle of my card. (I use alcohol inks on most of my projects, but you have to give the ink some time to set or you will see it start to smear or even lift off- another reason to work in steps.)

  • Now you can add your trees, flowers, vines- whatever you want. Try stamping them in different colors; you'll be amazed how they change the whole picture. For this project I stamped them in red, white, blue and grey.

  • ​I added Eden last because I wanted to be sure I highlighted her wings completely and then I added the hares.

  • I colored her wings with red and blue Nuvo drops then highlighted them white paint. Another way I added something special to this card was to use small highlighting the whisps and trees with more Nuvo drops and white paint.

Please be sure to join us at Lavinia World- We'd want to see what you come up with.

Win a challenge badge and $15 gift certificate to Lavinia World!

Here are the rules:

  • Using Lavinia stamps is strongly recommended, but not required at this time.

  • Your chances of winning the challenge prize is doubled each time your entry uses Lavinia stamps. For example- if 3 designers pick your submission- that's 6 entries!

  • You must use a rubber or clear stamp in your project. Digi stamps are not allowed.

  • The theme is always Anything Goes.

  • This is a bi-weekly challenge, with a new challenge beginning every other Thursday.

Here's more inspiration:

Other Fun Challenges: Inkspirational- 3 or 5 of Something


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page