top of page
Search
  • Vicki Beall

Lavinia World (5/23)- Believe


After weeks of anticipation it's here! It's our first challenge over at Lavinia World and all of us are super excited to share our work with you and even more excited to see what you come up with.

I had an amazing idea in my head and once I started to put it to paper- well you know- so I spent 2 hours cleaning and re-organizing my work space. I ended up designing a completely different card and I think it's more befitting for this first challenge- after all- you have to believe! You have to believe in yourself most of all, but how wonderful is the idea there are these amazing creatures big and small out there?

This was such a fun card to make- I wanted to show the intrigue of what lies beneath the ceiling of the forest. In a small clearing where the moon shines down a sweet rabbit comes across some drying fairy wings and I just know by the way he is gazing at the moon he believes. Do you?

I've linked each stamp I used in the step I used it.

  • Black card stock- This will be your card base and should be 4.25"x 11". Score your card at 5.5" and fold. Remember, turn your card over to fold~ the paper fibers will already be broken and you will have a smoother fold.

  • White card stock- This is the mat layer of the card. Cut this piece to 4" x 5.25". If you want to see less of the white, cut your mat bigger.

  • ​I like Paper Trey cardstock- it's got a great weight to it without being too heavy.

  • Copic Blending Paper- This is your inking and stamping layer. Cut it to 3.75" x 5". Larger if you want more picture and less mat. You can use any paper- this is just my preference.

  • First you will need to decide where you want your Moon to be- I chose the middle this time.

  • Second I added my "Fairy Fir Tree"- I almost always stamp using Staz-On Midnight Blue. I like the way it looks when I create a night sky.

  • Time to stain those fingers! I used yellow, green, purple and dark blue, but you could use any colors you like, sponge all over the edges, again we're making a haze or night time effect. Don't worry about getting the same amount of coverage in any one spot- it will all come together.

  • Lastly, I added "Believe in Magic", "Wet Wings" and "Moon Gazing Hare". I added these last because I wanted to be sure the wings were set in the lightest area of my clearing.

  • Now let's make the moon and wings sparkle! I added silver glitter Nuvo drops around the moon and on the wings. Just use your finger to spread it evenly- it's half the fun!

  • Here's where the real magic starts- I used a white gel pen and highlighted each area in which I thought the moon was hitting to give it an illuminated effect including my trees. Don't worry too much about being heavy handed with this- the moon always finds a way through.

  • The final touch was adding a few gems for a starry feel.

  • ​PS- Don't forget to give the envelope a little love too!

Here are some close ups:

Win a challenge badge and $15 gift certificate to Lavinia World!

Here are the rules:

  • Using Lavinia stamps is strongly recommended, but not required at this time.

  • Your chances of winning the challenge prize is doubled each time your entry uses Lavinia stamps. For example- if 3 designers pick your submission- that's 6 entries!

  • You must use a rubber or clear stamp in your project. Digi stamps are not allowed.

  • The theme is always Anything Goes.

  • This is a bi-weekly challenge, with a new challenge beginning every other Thursday.

Here's more inspiration:

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page